Volunteer

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Williamson Fire-Rescue is staffed by volunteer professionals. That means that virtually none of our firefighters are paid for their services!  This is where YOU can give back to your community.

We accept volunteer applications all the time. If you are interested in being one of our family, you can fill out the online volunteer interest form. We will contact you with a detailed application form and set up an appointment to get you on your way to helping your neighbors in ways you likely haven’t dreamed of!

Firefighters putting out a fire at Camp Marymount Fire in 2011.
Firefighters putting out a fire at Camp Marymount Fire in 2011.

Who can be a volunteer firefighter?

If you have the desire to serve and help your community, you can be a volunteer firefighter! You don’t need any prior experience; you will receive the training you need when you join the department. Williamson County has specific requirements, listed in the next section. Fire departments need volunteers with various types of knowledge, skills and abilities. Volunteers can include operational members, firefighters and emergency medical responders (EMRs), auxiliary members, and administrative members.

What qualifications do I need to become a volunteer firefighter in Williamson County ?

Per Tennessee State Law, you must be at least 18 years to start your formal training as a Williamson County Volunteer. After you fill out the interest form we can start the onboarding steps to start your formal training. After completion of a comprehensive background check from the FBI, you will be asked to complete a physical agility exercise that will help you to see what basic rigors you will need to face. You should be physically fit to participate in our training program.

Do volunteer firefighters in Williamson County get paid?

Volunteers are not paid. The State of Tennessee does provide Volunteer Educational Incentive Pay program (VEIP). Each volunteer firefighter that meets program requirements could receive $600 annually. Additionally, Williamson County provides a Length of Service Award Program (LOSAP); this allocates a monthly payment to volunteer firefighters once they reach the age of 65. The LOSAP program requires a minimum amount of volunteer hours with training, meetings and activities on an annual basis.  

What kind of training do I need?

Once you sign up to be a member, you will need to be trained for your role within the department. Training requirements include: 

  • FF050 State required Introduction to Emergency Services Class
  • FF100  State required Basic Firefighting Class
  • Tennessee Emergency Management Hazardous Materials Awareness and Operations Courses
  • 16 Hour State required Live Burn
  • AHA BLS CPR Course
  • State required Emergency Medical Responder (EMR) Course
  • 12 Hour EMR Hands-On Ambulance Ride Along

Additional training is offered to continue the volunteer professional’s experience and career aspirations. These are typically handled through ongoing monthly training classes offered at each individual station.

Williamson Fire-Rescue will provide 100% of the training and equipment required to volunteer at no cost to you!

Should I start physical training before applying to volunteer?

It is not necessary, but the Williamson County training program may help you achieve the physical standards required by our department.

How many hours do volunteer firefighters work?

New volunteers without any previous fire or medical certification will be provided training in our recruit academy. Our classes meet two nights a week and some Saturdays. Weekday classes are held in the evening hours. Once you start your formal class instruction with us, you will be use an app to list your availability for emergency responses. Your initial time investment will be focused on completing basic training. Once you complete classes and receive officer approval, you will be allowed to respond according to your level of certification. 

Typically, completion of the recruit academy takes about 8 to 12 months. We encourage volunteers to balance family and work while volunteering with us. 

What are the benefits for becoming a volunteer?

You will receive free training, free uniforms and worker’s compensation if you get hurt. Williamson Fire-Rescue also offers live-in programs at some of our fire stations throughout the county.

If you become a volunteer firefighter you will inevitably gain new skills that can be used in current and future jobs, and on your resume to better market yourself for future opportunities.

As a member of your local volunteer fire department, you will gain a sense of pride, camaraderie, respect and service to your community. You will touch the lives of those in the community that depend on you to be the best trained and equipped member possible.

Become a guardian of your community by volunteering today!

Extrication Demo at 2018 Williamson County Fair

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9