Court System


Tennessee’s trial courts include Chancery, Criminal, Circuit, and Probate Courts. Currently there are 142 trial and three probate judges within 32 judicial districts in Tennessee.

In the 21st Judicial District there are only Chancery and Circuit Courts. Probate matters are filed in Chancery Court and criminal matters are filed in Circuit Court.

The judges of the 21st Judicial District are all designated Circuit Judges. They sit as Chancellor when holding Chancery Court.

General Sessions Court

The General Sessions Court is the first court in which most criminal and civil cases originate. For most citizens, it is the people’s court, which tends to be the court of first and last resort. The General Sessions Court handles small claims and traffic violations as well

Juvenile Court

Circuit Court

Chancery Courts