Click to Home
Go To Search
Circuit Court Judges
Williamson County
135 S. Fourth Ave
Franklin, TN  37064

8:00 am - 4:30 pm

Phone: 615-425-4009
Fax: (615) 790-4424
Fax: (615) 790-5047

Tennessee’s trial courts include Chancery, Criminal, Circuit, and Probate Courts. Currently there are 152 trial and 2 probate judges within 31 judicial districts in Tennessee. Williamson County is in the 21st Judicial District along with Hickman, Lewis, and Perry Counties.

In the 21st Judicial District, there are only Chancery and Circuit Courts. Probate matters are filed in Chancery Court and criminal matters are filed in Circuit Court. The judges of the 21st Judicial District are all designated Circuit Judges. They sit as Chancellor when holding Chancery Court. There are now four divisions of the Circuit Court with a separate judge for each division.

Judge Joseph A. Woodruff sits in Division I; Judge James G. Martin, III, Division II; Judge Mike  Binkley  in Division III and Judge Deanna B. Johnson  in Division IV. All criminal cases are divided into Part 1 and Part 2. All civil cases, both Circuit and Chancery, are also divided into Part 1 and Part 2. Each judge is assigned to one of the parts, either criminal Part 1 or 2 or civil Part 1 or 2.

Note:Effective 1-1-16, assignments are Judge Michael W. Binkley - Civil Part 2; Judge Deanna B. Johnson - Civil Part 1; Judge James G. Martin, III - Criminal Part 2; Judge Joseph A. Woodruff - Criminal Part 1

The judges maintain offices in the Williamson County Judicial Center 135 Fourth Ave South in Franklin. The office is staffed by four administrative assistants, Stacy Green, Karen Card , Deborah Rubenstein & Cathy Barton. The office hours are 8:00 am to 4:30 pm.